Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   Can't enter a specific website ONLY ON MY MAC? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/305197-cant-enter-specific-website-only-my-mac.html)

N.Sylvest 11-03-2013 01:30 PM

Can't enter a specific website ONLY ON MY MAC?
 
Hi.
I have a problem entering this website:
wheelspinmodels.co.uk

My other windows pc entering the page easily, but my mac just won't load it :'(

Anyone who knows the problem?

Thanks!
Nicolai

newscribe 11-03-2013 01:36 PM

Hi,

Fine here Im using Safari 7.0, which browser are you using?

N.Sylvest 11-03-2013 03:01 PM

I've tried all browsers without any luck :Oops:

vansmith 11-03-2013 03:19 PM

Do you get any sort of error message? Does it load partially?

harryb2448 11-03-2013 03:20 PM

No problem whatsoever. What are your Mac details?

N.Sylvest 11-03-2013 04:26 PM

Do you want my specs?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/b0ihg0ohlf8kouc/ERROR.jpg

vansmith 11-03-2013 04:47 PM

I'm not sure what that error message is in English but it looks like it's the default page that Safari shows when it can't seem to load the page.

Let's try something. If you go to this URL (it's the IP address for the page), does it load? If so, it's a DNS issue (which would affect all browsers). If it doesn't, we can at least scratch off DNS issue as the problem.

N.Sylvest 11-04-2013 02:35 AM

Sorry! I forgot it was in Danish :-) haha

It says something about the page which can't be shown and the server won't answer :'(

It still won't load with the IP address...

vansmith 11-04-2013 11:35 AM

Follow the instructions here to do what is called "pinging." Essentially, you're going to send little bits of data to the website and see if it responds. The only adaptation you need to make to those instructions is to replace yahoo.com with the site that isn't working.

N.Sylvest 11-04-2013 11:40 AM

It says this:


ING wheelspinmodels.co.uk (5.79.20.145): 56 data bytes
Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
ping: sendto: No route to host
Request timeout for icmp_seq 4
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 5
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 6
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 7
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 8
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 9
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 10
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 11
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 12
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 13
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 14
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 15
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 16
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 17
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 18
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 19
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 20
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 21
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 22
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 23
Request timeout for icmp_seq 24
Request timeout for icmp_seq 25
Request timeout for icmp_seq 26
Request timeout for icmp_seq 27
Request timeout for icmp_seq 28
ping: sendto: No route to host
Request timeout for icmp_seq 29
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 30
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 31
^C

N.Sylvest 11-04-2013 11:45 AM

33 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

Raz0rEdge 11-04-2013 11:47 AM

Repeat the pinging test on your Windows PC. Looks like you just can't talk to that IP address. If your Windows PC works, are they on the same network?

N.Sylvest 11-04-2013 11:49 AM

My windows pc works without any problem...
Yes they are on the same network.
Tried to enter the website at my school but still without any luck. so it's not the network but the mac.

Thanks.

chscag 11-04-2013 04:31 PM

Sounds like your host file may be hosed. Check your host file to make sure that website and perhaps some others are not addressed there.

N.Sylvest 11-05-2013 03:22 AM

I can only fin a lot of different adobe addresses in the host file.

Damn! what is happening on this mac...


It's a i7 2.8 Ghz 13" 4GB
OSX 10.7.5


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.