HELP: new purchase needed but what ?
    Hi Guys, I’m brand new to the forums and would love some advice. http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/mac...mbarrassed.png

The back ground: I’m an Art Teacher and I’ve spend the last 5 years working on videos, and building websites using the usual iweb, I Photo, and iMovie software. I was devastated when iweb was made obsolete. MY white 180gb MacBook is now full and the operating system hideously out-dated. So we need a new Mack book with all the usual soft wear.

Here’s the problem: Money is tight and I need Office + the abode creative suite. We get a good deal when we buy it with a new mac but the mac book pro is a little out of our price range. Could I use the new Mac book Air 256gb computer and link it up to a networked hard drive? Would the Air still have the processing power to run all the things I want and would an external (none cable- networked) hard drive make up for the lack of space?

What are the benefits of wireless external hard drives vs. networked routers with an external hard drive. And what set up do you have and do you have any recommendations regarding routers?

All testing stuff?
    Any Ideas any one?
    Paul

Yes, it will work with networked drives.
    For those purposes i would suggest a retina MacBook Pro with a little extra RAM

Specs:
    2011 13" MBP 2.3ghz, 8gig ram, OS 10.8.5
    Hello Paul...welcome to Mac-Forums.

If you don't mind my saying...you covered a lot of ground in your posting. Why don't we cover one thing at a time...and stick with what computer fits both your needs & budget.

But before we do that (because I'm a frugal guy)...why do you think that your old MacBook cannot still continue to get the job done? Depending on your reasons...we may or may not still be able to squeeze a bit more use out of it.

It would help if you told us exactly what model MacBook it is (cpu speed, amount of ram, OS version it is running).

- Nick
    - Too many "beachballs", read this: Beachballs