Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   Graphics card(s) shot? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/301560-graphics-card-s-shot.html)

tjmullan 07-26-2013 07:57 PM

Graphics card(s) shot?
 
1 Attachment(s)
My Early 2011 15" MBP has been having some issues lately. It seems to happen when I am running iPhoto or other apps that require switching to the discrete graphics card. Sometimes, lines appear, the screen goes dark, or something crazy like photo I have attached. I have run hardware tests and everything passes. It seems to be fine if I set gfx to integrated only. Anyone have any ideas?

Attachment 19341

harryb2448 07-26-2013 08:02 PM

Lot of talk the Firmware Update 1.7 may have caused this problem. Got AppleCare by any chance? have a read of this link from Apple Discussions:-

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

pigoo3 07-26-2013 08:06 PM

Firstly (just for technical sake)...MacBook Pro's don't have graphics cards. They do have "graphics hardware"...which is soldered onto the logic board...not removeable...and not upgradeable.

"Graphics card" is sort of old terminology from the desktop computer days...which had removable & upgradeable "graphics cards".

Ok with that out of the way...I'm not 100% sure what the issue is. I see the photo you included. The left photo looks a little fuzzy...the right one looks more in focus. Is this the issue you are talking about?

Did you check what the display resolution is. Maybe it got changed.

- Nick

Stretch 07-26-2013 08:26 PM

Nick, the big black bar through the screen is the issue. ;)

pigoo3 07-26-2013 11:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stretch (Post 1528553)
Nick, the big black bar through the screen is the issue. ;)

Ohh is that it!;)

Honestly...when I first looked at the photo (screenshot)...I thought that it was some sort of split-screen...displaying two photos (one on the left & one on the right).

I'm also seeing two sets of drop-down menus at the top as well...leading me to believe that some sort of split-screen thing was going on.

But if that black vertical bar down the middle is the issue...ahh-ha!;)

- Nick


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.