New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Setting Localhost on Mac

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mohammed

mohammed is on a distinguished road

Hello Friends,

Just wanted to make this a as a quick Post.
I am trying to set my local folder as localhost, the way we set in windows.

I am a webmaster and bought a new apple iBook 12" and now i am trying view my websites locally as I would be working on it most of the time.
I guess there is not much complication in doing this, but still i was not able to do this.

Can anyone please reply to this post soon.

Thanks in advance.

White Eagle.
QUOTE Thanks
antizero

The good thing about Mac OS X is that Apache comes built in, you just have to enable it. Go to System preferences > Sharing > enable Personal Web Sharing (or ftp and whatever else you need).
QUOTE Thanks
mohammed

mohammed is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by antizero
The good thing about Mac OS X is that Apache comes built in, you just have to enable it. Go to System preferences > Sharing > enable Personal Web Sharing (or ftp and whatever else you need).
Thanks Antizero for the reply, I really appreciate.

One more last thing. I have seen those settings, http://202.168.2.8/~mohammed/ and this is what I see.

Now how should I give the Path of the local folder in our HDD?

Can you please make it much more elabotaive.

Thanks in Advance.

Mohammed
QUOTE Thanks