Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   Which configuration should I choose? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/297677-configuration-should-i-choose.html)

Vobs56 04-08-2013 12:45 AM

Which configuration should I choose?

Hello everyone,

I am new to mac-forums but have been a proud 5-year owner of a 15" MacBook Pro (2008). 2.4 GHz Intel Core Duo 2 / 2 GB RAM / 250 GB HDD.

I am in the market for a new MacBook and I have done my research but I was hoping to seek some last minute advice regarding 3 configurations that I am considering to purchase.

The 3 options I have decided on are with the education discount since I am a college student:
1. 13" MacBook Air - 2.0GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 256GB Flash Storage for $1,529

2. 13" MacBook Pro - 2.6 GHz Intel Dual-Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 256GB Flash Storage for $1,599

3. 15" MacBook Pro - 2.4 GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 256GB Flash Storage for $1,999

I log a lot of hours on my computer but I typically use it for web browsing, email, word processing (ms office) for school, watching videos and movies. so I am not a designer producing movies, editing pictures, etc. From the research I have done it seems like going all-out on my purchase could definitely be over-kill. My budget is around $1700, give or take a $100, but I would be willing to go up to $1,999 if the 15-inch retina is really worth it and significantly better than my other options while still being realistic about my typical usage and requirements.

I am torn between the 13" and 15" screens because I am used to the 15" on my current MacBook but I can see the practicality in the better portability of the 13" so I think I could get used to it.

If anyone would have any input on the 3 configurations I am considering or any other features that I may be leaving out it would be very helpful! Thanks in advance!

wolfpuppies3 04-09-2013 06:05 PM