Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   hard drive not being recognized w/PB 1.67ghz...please help (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/29445-hard-drive-not-being-recognized-w-pb-1-67ghz-please-help.html)

butchdiesel 01-22-2006 09:46 PM

hard drive not being recognized w/PB 1.67ghz...please help
 
computer was being very slow so i decided to power off, then restart.

powerup - i press the power button and seconds later the screen shows a folder with a blinking mac icon and question mark. computer does not start up.

i put in my original powerbook disc and hold 'c' to boot from it...

i then go to disk utility in hopes that i will be able to repair the hard drive.

the only thing that shows up in disk utility is the dvd-rom drive, no hard drive. computer does not recognize the hard drive.

i open up the powerbook to make sure the hard drive cable somehow didn't get disconnected, but no luck, it's still connected.

ehhh this sucks. any ideas on what the heck has happened to my powerbook?

jn4jenny 01-23-2006 09:01 AM

Sounds like a classic case of hard drive failure. If you have AppleCare, then Apple will fix it. If not, you can probably still convince them to fix it with their flat-rate repair service (was about $325 when my hard drive/logic board needed fixing.) The question is whether or not they'll refuse your service since you opened the Powerbook. :(

Mr Bobbins 01-23-2006 09:29 AM

If your handy and have no APPLE CARE then just put a new one in yourself (the cheeper option).

Would maybe be a good idea to test the old one first to see if it's all working and that it is just the HD that's broke. Disconnect the HD out of the powerbook and try it as a slave drive in your G5.!!

butchdiesel 01-23-2006 10:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr Bobbins
If your handy and have no APPLE CARE then just put a new one in yourself (the cheeper option).

Would maybe be a good idea to test the old one first to see if it's all working and that it is just the HD that's broke. Disconnect the HD out of the powerbook and try it as a slave drive in your G5.!!



hmmm how can i hook it up to my g5? cord seems too small.

Mr Bobbins 01-23-2006 12:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by butchdiesel
hmmm how can i hook it up to my g5? cord seems too small.

Sorry, I thought it would have the same connection. Back to the drawing board. :dummy:

MadSkillzMan 01-26-2006 12:30 AM

target disk mode anyone?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.