Buy retina display MacBook 13" -- OR -- Stay with MacBook Pro 2009 (8GB RAM)
    What I'm really wondering is when 8GB RAM will be dated. I'm a freelance graphic designer/architecture student so I need my MacBook to do some heavy lifting.

I'd like to update my MacBook after now having it for 3 years and the retina display is very tempting on the 13" when released, but I really don't like the un-upgradable RAM soldered to the board.

I probably won't be able to afford the 16GB model if they release one, so I'll have to go with 8GB, which is what I currently have in my mid '09 MacBook Pro.

So which is better -

- Buying the 8GB retina MacBook Pro (an not having a RAM upgrade)
    - Upgrading my mid '09 MacBook Pro with an SSD

Thanks in advance.

Retina Display
    Quote Originally Posted by capitalOh View Post
    What I'm really wondering is when 8GB RAM will be dated. I'm a freelance graphic designer/architecture student so I need my MacBook to do some heavy lifting.

I'd like to update my MacBook after now having it for 3 years and the retina display is very tempting on the 13" when released, but I really don't like the un-upgradable RAM soldered to the board.

I probably won't be able to afford the 16GB model if they release one, so I'll have to go with 8GB, which is what I currently have in my mid '09 MacBook Pro.

So which is better -

Thanks in advance.

If you are not getting a performance boost then why upgrade?

That's a valid point!

I guess the allure of the upgrade itself (and retina display) interests me.

But I am leaning towards the SSD upgrade. I guess I was just wondering if it's worth upgrading anything at this point, if I find that I'll be needing 16GB RAM around the corner...

That's a valid point!

I guess the allure of the upgrade itself (and retina display) interests me.