New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Resolution not correct on MBA external display

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

guenis

guenis is on a distinguished road

Hello,

I have a mid-2011 11' MBA running 10.7.3. I recently bought 3rd party mini displayport to hdmi converter to connect my mba to lcd screen but it seems that the resolution of the external display is always misjudged by the mba. I can set the external display resolution from as low as 1024 x 768 to (desired) 1080p and resolution looks ok, quality is fine. But the problem is the display slightly extends over the top and bottom of the external screen. It is not much but I can only see the bottom half top bar and also part of the dock is missing at the bottom. The situation persists even if I use the mba and external display side to side or use only external display. The resolution on the mba display is always correct, it always fits to the internal monitor. This is so frustrating as I watch most of the movies in very high quality and don't want to miss parts of them. The same LCD screen is working ok with laptop pcs and wd live tv at 1080p and other resolutions. Is there any fix to this problem, your help will be much appreciated.
QUOTE Thanks
guenis