Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   Wiping out HD after logic-board failure.. (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/28186-wiping-out-hd-after-logic-board-failure.html)

JBarbier 12-27-2005 02:48 PM

Wiping out HD after logic-board failure..
 
Hi, I'm pretty disgusted to say that my g3 800mhz iBook's LB has failed again. Instead of going through all of the hassle to replace it (again,) I decided just to sell it for parts since it has maxed-out RAM, 40gb HD, airport card, an extra battery (new) and tons of other stuff. I figure I could get a couple hundred by scrapping it, or selling it as/is. However, I have NO way of wiping out my harddrive. How would I be able to do this without using the iBook? I don't have any other mac laptops, so I'm clueless... any ideas?

Avalon 12-27-2005 04:57 PM

With the fried logicboard, the only way would be taking out the harddisk, connecting it to another computer (requires 2.5" to 3.5" IDE adapter) and then you can format it.

JBarbier 12-27-2005 07:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Avalon
With the fried logicboard, the only way would be taking out the harddisk, connecting it to another computer (requires 2.5" to 3.5" IDE adapter) and then you can format it.

Darn, I thought so... hmm. Maybe I'll rip out my old HD from my iPod that has OS X installed on it... would that work, are they the same size drives?

DigitalN. 12-27-2005 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JBarbier
Darn, I thought so... hmm. Maybe I'll rip out my old HD from my iPod that has OS X installed on it... would that work, are they the same size drives?

definately wouldn't work.

mynameis 12-27-2005 09:06 PM

It doesn't have to be an Apple laptop to erase the HD. If you know someone with a Dell that would be good, they usually make it really easy to get to the HD.

JBarbier 12-27-2005 10:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JBarbier
Darn, I thought so... hmm. Maybe I'll rip out my old HD from my iPod that has OS X installed on it... would that work, are they the same size drives?

on second though... i just hooked up my ipod and attempted to reinstall os x onto the ipod... maybe my harddrive is bad and NOT my logic board? Possible? The harddisks do make a VERY large amount of noise when I attempt to restart... maybe that is why when it asked me where I wanted to install OS X, it only showed my ipod and didn't show my ibook's HD... possible? What do you think?

JBarbier 12-27-2005 10:11 PM

also, when i restart and hold command+s (i don't know what the name for this control mode is) and I try to run fsck -fy it gives me an I/0 error on disks05 or something obscure like that... maybe it IS a bad hd after all?

D3v1L80Y 12-27-2005 10:21 PM

Yeah, when the HD doesn't show up on the install screen, that is usually a good sign that the HD has gone south.
I would suggest trying a new HD first, before you decide to get rid of the iBook yet.

JBarbier 12-27-2005 10:24 PM

Yea, I'm trying to install os x on my ipod and see what happens... if that works, is there any way where I can check the status of my internal hard drive? I swear, if I get this working, I'm selling it and getting a powerbook ;)

JBarbier 12-27-2005 10:44 PM

Well, strangely OS X recognizes my internal hard drive and all files are intact! Why then did it not recognize it during installation? This is quite strange!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.