High-End PC or Low-End Mac
    Hello All,
    I have recently bought a HP DV6-7031tx with an i7-3610qm, 8GB RAM and a GT630m 2GB Graphics Card. I have been recently though exploring the possibilities of getting into a mac. Of course, budget is an issue as I am a student. I basically have two options, on gumtree at the moment, there is a Early 2011 Macbook Pro 15" model, with the 2.0ghz 2635qm for $1100. Or a brand new current gen 13" with the i5. The main use for it though is HD Video Editing with Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects, and Photo Editing in Photoshop. The HP does pretty darn well on all of these. Will either of those Macbooks provide similar or better performance than my current laptop on those tasks?? I went into the local NextByte store and had the sales assistant tell me some rubbish... 'A mac will beat any PC'. Yeah, Right.

Theres probably lots of questions somewhere about this but I couldnt find them, also try to keep your mac fan-boyiness at bay. Don't tell me a mac is better because it has a backlit keyboard...

Thanks,
    Sam

EDIT: I would just get a new iMac and be done with it, but I need the portability for school.

Specs:
    Late 2013 27" iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 6s+, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, El Capitan
    Theres probably lots of questions somewhere about this but I couldnt find them, also try to keep your mac fan-boyiness at bay. Don't tell me a mac is better because it has a backlit keyboard...
    You're not going to get very many responses when you post things like that above. You're here in a very friendly Mac Forum not on usenet. So keep that in mind when you start a thread. OK?

Stick with your HP. It has plenty of power and will probably outperform some of the Macs you mentioned. The big difference is that Macs run OS X and the HP runs Windows 7. I like Windows 7 and use it on my PC but I like OS X better.