New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Acquired a PowerBook 180...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

chocolate_

chocolate_ is on a distinguished road

I found a PowerBook 180 in my grandmother's garage, and made this account just to ask what I should do with it.

I'm a programmer, so it can really be anything. I just don't know what it can do.
QUOTE Thanks
Slydude

Slydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: 2.8 GHz MacBook Pro 10.8,3 8 GB mem, 2.66 GHz Mac Pro - Dead, iPhone 4

That was a pretty good machine for its day. It was introduced in late1992 but discontinued in May of '94.

If you have the 180c it is capable of color graphics. The max. screen resolution was 640 x 480 with 4 MB memory standard and 14 max. It could take Operating systems from Mac OS 7.1 to 7.6.1 if the info I found is correct.

There are versions of Microsoft Office that ran on this machine if I remember correctly. Its a bit slow though with a 30 MHz processor.

Sylvester Roque Former Contributing Editor About This Particular Macintosh

"Got Time to breathe. You got time for music." Denver Pyle as Briscoe Darling