New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Advice Needed

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Matt J

Matt J is on a distinguished road

I'm relatively new to the Mac game and my HDD on my Mid '09 Macbook Pro has gone kaput. I am wondering which HDD to buy to replace it. Do I need one that is already formatted for use with OS X? Or can I literally just buy any SATA 2.5" HDD and throw it in?

I would be extremely grateful for any help on this matter. Thanks in advance.
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3

pigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 13" MB 2.4ghz, 2gig ram, OS 10.7.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt J View Post
Or can I literally just buy any SATA 2.5" HDD and throw it in?
This is pretty much all you have to do:

- buy an HD from a reputable manufacturer
- install it
- format the HD for use on a Mac (if it is not already formatted)
- then install the Mac OS (10.6 or 10.7 I would assume for you)

Check these guys out:

OWC

...they're pretty good.

- Nick

- Computer slow, too many "beachballs", read this: Beachballs