New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Macbook Air HD upgrade?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

ofdw

ofdw is on a distinguished road

I have an MBA getting on for 3 years old with an 80GB hard drive. Apple tell me it isn't possible (at least not through Apple!) to upgrade to a bigger hard drive. Does anyone have experience of doing this and could you advise me on what potential difficulties are?
I am not the sort of person who can tinker and do jobs like this myself: I would be looking to pay a professional to do it properly! If Apple won't do it, do you know who can?
I am currently saving space by transferring big files (iphoto library and itunes library) to an external HD attached to an airport extreme - but this is not without its own problems so I would prefer to upgrade if possible!
Thanks for any advice.
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3

pigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 13" MB 2.4ghz, 2gig ram, OS 10.7.5