New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

My powerbook g4 doesnt see my hard drive?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

twitch99

twitch99 is on a distinguished road

I bought my power book g4 off of a friend it had a dead hard drive so i bought a new hard drive "HTS424040M9AT00" in particulate but when i go to install OS x 10.4 tiger when it says select destination to store OS x or something (i'm new to mac) nothing shows up. I've tried looking for it in disk utilities but it just shows the optical drive. I've also tried resetting the PRAM and NVRAM. Nothing I'm not sure it the hard drive is dead or not (hopefully not ) Can you help me?

- Twitch99
QUOTE Thanks
Kevriano

Kevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.

Have you formatted the drive to Mac OS Extended (Journaled)? You will need to if you are going to load any Mac OS to it. All drives come formatted as NTFS as standard (pretty much).

Try my custom Mac Forums Search Engine: Mac Forums Google Search

Please use the reputation system if you consider any help given useful (it's the little ✓/✘ on the left <---)

QUOTE Thanks
twitch99