New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Questions about MacBook Air :)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

olliiee

olliiee is on a distinguished road

So I'm a UNI student looking for something to take to and from, light and portable, and nothing compares to an Air at the moment in the same price range. Especially second hand!

So I'm looking at purchasing an 11.6" 2011 model with the 64GB SSD and i5 or a 13.3" 2010 with 128GB SSD both for about the same $$.

I wanted to ask the Apple store a few questions but they are closed so I turn to you

1. If I want to install something by DVD how might I go about that?
2. If I buy second hand whats the deal with Applecare? Does it roll over?
3. If I find the SSD ageing or not enough is it possible to upgrade it? Or does the cost of getting them to do that exceed the cost of the machine?
4. If the battery life is diminished, is it possible for them to replace it?

Sorry for all the questions, this is my first post

I'm usually a PC guy but my Dad loves his MacBook pros and all his other apple gear and I think I'll give an apple laptop a shot, everything else I have of theirs is nice

Thanks in advance for any help
QUOTE Thanks
CrimsonRequiem