New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Old Powerbook wont backup external hdd

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

kimouette

kimouette is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I have this good old Powerbook G4 (1.33Ghz, 250Gb hdd) that started to show signs of weakness. I also have an old external hdd (iomega minimax 500Gb) that I have been using for many years to back up everything that I've been keeping on my Mac.

Now these 2 pieces of hardware are getting old, and I'm stuck!!

I bought a new USB2 external hdd (of 1To so plenty of space in there!!) and now I want to partition this hdd to use one half to backup my powerbook's internal hdd, and another partition to back up my 500Go iomega minimax.

The Mac is so slow it wont let me do that!! To backup the Minimax I only found out how to create an image using disk utility and to back up my internal hdd I've been using Clone X2. I think Clone X2 will do the job within about 13 hours but the Minimax back up will take approximately 100 hours! I left it running for more that 10 hours and it was not even at 10% of the progress bar. Plus, this made both the Minimax and my internal hdd run like crazy and become really hot! I was afraid something would melt or explode!