New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Upgrade current MBP or get new MBA?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

cww007

cww007 is on a distinguished road

Hello all,

I currently own a mid-2010 2.66Ghz 13" MacBook Pro and am debating whether or not to upgrade it or go ahead and buy the new MacBook Air. I am a college student so performance is not a necessity but I am a bit of a power user at times via media downloads and the occasional PC game. I want to be able to play games such as the upcoming Star Wars Old Republic or Guild Wars 2. Here are my options:

1. Upgrade my current MBP to 8Gig RAM, and an OCZ Vertex 3 SSD.

2. Forgo my current setup and get one of the new Macbook Airs (13 inch perhaps?).

Again, portability is nice but not a deal breaker as my current 13" MBP is quite portable as is. Budget is not a factor either. Thanks for any help!
QUOTE Thanks
linds_15

linds_15 is on a distinguished road

im in the same boat with the same question, i have the 2.4Ghz core 2 duo, would the 1.7i5 be faster then this? both with 4GB ram, i was considering upgarding mine to an ssd and adding some ram but my sister needs a computer so i may pass mine onto her and get a mba
QUOTE Thanks
Deckyon

Deckyon is just really niceDeckyon is just really niceDeckyon is just really niceDeckyon is just really niceDeckyon is just really nice