New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Macbook Air or Macbook?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

carenburg

carenburg is on a distinguished road

Hello i am a student in High school, i guess you could call me "Tech Savvy" because i run a forum (and know how it works). I use a laptop every day in the class room (have a learning disability) so i need a light computer (thus the mac line) i also need a computer that i well be able to right code on and develop websites on. I well also be running VMware (because of the student discount). The two laptops that it has come down to are the Macbook Air (base model) or Macbook (base model) they cost the same price at out local stores. What would you suggest?
QUOTE Thanks
Deckyon

Deckyon is just really niceDeckyon is just really niceDeckyon is just really niceDeckyon is just really niceDeckyon is just really nice
Mac Specs: MBP 17" 2011, 2.3GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, MacMini 2011, 2.7GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8GB RAM

Both will accomplish what you need.

However, you will be disappointed with the response of both the OSX and whatever OS you end up running in VMWare. Since using virtual machines requires the host machine to share its hardware with the virtual machine, both slow way down.