New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Battery tips

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Che_Guitarra

Che_Guitarra is on a distinguished road

I'm new to laptops, so I got a bunch of questions in regard to maintaining a healthy battery, beyond tips like 'turn on setting X will save 20 mins of charge'. Moreso i'm interested in battery maintenence and maximizing lifespan.

Some Q's:
- Is it good to run the battery flat?
- Is it healthy to charge the battery back up if i'm only partially flat?
- If my Macbook is mains powered 99% of the time, will this affect the battery long term?
- Do laptop batteries suffer from memory effect also?

Any tips or advice in regards to batteries? I'm all ears
QUOTE Thanks
Lbatson21

Lbatson21 has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: 2011 Mac mini and 2010 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 4 and iPad

Check it out here. Apple - Batteries
QUOTE Thanks
Narcissus

Narcissus is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 13" Unibody, C2D 2.0GHz, 4GB, 500GB

One thing I can tel you that does seem to help, is removing the battery from the computer when your not planning on using the battery or the computer is in storage.

I try to refrain from running my battery flat, excessive wear occurs when it charges from a dead state in that more heat is produced because of how long it takes to charge up. Plus, the amperage is higher when charging the battery in a lower state.