New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Upgrading the processor on my macbook pro core 2 duo 2.16?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

bigideaguy

bigideaguy is on a distinguished road

Hey guys I am a college student currently working on my degree in computer science but haven't gotten that far yet

I was wondering if it would be possible to upgrade my processor on my mac, I have taken computer maintenance so I know how to take it apart and not fry anything. But I am unsure as to what the macbook would support?

Currently I have it at 4gb of ram already and I am getting my way through school as a designer and running my own company(home based) and I would like to keep the money that I do earn for other things than a new macbook. I run adobe AI, PS, DW, and at times other applications at the same time and it can be a bit sluggish.

Any tips on what processors I could get? I5 or I7 would be nice if it's possible
QUOTE Thanks
CrimsonRequiem

CrimsonRequiem is a name known to allCrimsonRequiem is a name known to allCrimsonRequiem is a name known to allCrimsonRequiem is a name known to allCrimsonRequiem is a name known to allCrimsonRequiem is a name known to allCrimsonRequiem is a name known to all
Mac Specs: MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB

No you can't.

死神はリンゴしか食べない。
QUOTE Thanks
bigideaguy