New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Battery slowly dying??

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

cupcake

cupcake is an unknown at this point

So I'm a college student and I just got a 15 inch macbook pro in September. I keep it on all the time because otherwise I'd spend half my day logging into the schools internet system.

If I just leave it on and dim the screen[not shut the screen] I don't need to log into the internet and have a chance of it not working.

Now I've noticed that if I use it unplugged the battery run for 3 hours now instead of the 5 it used to when I got it. I usually use it plugged in though.

Is me running it all day every day and not shutting it down ruining the battery?
QUOTE Thanks
osxx

osxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3

What does your cycle count and battery health say in system preferences under power.
QUOTE Thanks
chas_m