New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MBPro + SSD = Unformatted Disk

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

rockinthesix

rockinthesix is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 13" Unibody Macbook Pro, 4GB Ram, 64GB SSD

Hey Everyone

I'm new to both the forum and to Macs. I just purchased a MacBook Pro about 3 months ago (my first mac ever), and last month I purchased a 64GB Patriot Warp V2 SSD.

Ever since then I have been having issues with the Operating System.

I will be using my mac, close the lid, go to a new location, and when I open it up I get the Spinning Pinwheel.

I then proceed to hard shutdown, but when I power it back up I get a flashing envelope... So I put in the OSX disk... and go to Disk Utility

The Disk Utility is telling me that the Patriot is "Unformatted".

This has happened to me three times in the past 4 weeks... what could possibly be the issue?
QUOTE Thanks
robca

robca is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook Pro Uni

have you removed the disk the safe way? Or just unplugged the thing?
QUOTE Thanks
clayneal

clayneal is a glorious beacon of lightclayneal is a glorious beacon of lightclayneal is a glorious beacon of lightclayneal is a glorious beacon of lightclayneal is a glorious beacon of lightclayneal is a glorious beacon of light
Mac Specs: late 08 macbook 2.0 4gig 320hdd10.7.3 32 gig iPhone 4s

Quote:
Originally Posted by robca View Post