Paris, France
    Using a macbook pro closed for extended time unadvised ?
    Hello everybody, a noob here

I'm thinking about switching to a MBP (15" or 17", from a dell note book under vista), and it would be used most of the times as an "office computer", that is closed with seperate display and keyboard.

I've been told on another forum that doing so is not advised as a lot of the cooling goes through the keyboard, and so that this would impair the cooling, is that true ?

Also the noise level (that is having no noise) is very important for me, how would you rate the MBPs in this regard ?

Another little question, is it possible to plug two external DVI displays on the MBP (in fact one display and a flat screen tv) ?

Thanks for any info and best wishes to you all !

North Louisiana, USA
    2.8 GHz MacBook Pro 10.11, 8 GB mem, iPhone 6+
    Some cooling does occur through the keyboard. Although I have not found anything from Apple specifically about this issue, I did find an Apple article describing how to do it. I suspect that if this were a problem that article would be very specific about the amoount if time spent in clamshell mode. Apple Portables: How to use your computer in closed clamshell (display closed) mode with an external display

You can connect two external screens to the MacBook Pro though you will need some additional hardware. I reviewed one such device recently. For part of the time I had two external screens attached. I used VGA for the one of the two extra screens but that's due to the monitors I had available for testing. Here's my review of one such device ATPM 15.08 - Review: OWC USB 2.0 Display Adapter.

There are several similar devices on the market that I have not tried. If the OpenGL issue mentioned in the review is going to be a big issue for you this might be a deal breaker. I am not sure but I suspect the other devices have similar issues with OpenGL.