New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Whay notebook is right for me?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

dillonj

dillonj is on a distinguished road

I'm thinking about buying my mother an Apple laptop for Christmas. I am pretty new to Macs, so I need some of you experts to help me. She is a principal, and will use it for work and home. She wont heavily use it. I'm just wondering what notebook might be good for her. Any more info you guys need, just ask.
QUOTE Thanks
RD423

RD423 will become famous soon enough

I would say go for the regular macbook unless u want 2 spend a couple hundred more bucks and go with the macbook pro. The only difference is the pro has the aluminum look and the firewire and sd reader.
QUOTE Thanks
cuhnool

cuhnool is a jewel in the roughcuhnool is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: MacBook 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo | 1GB RAM | OS X 10.6.3 | 250GB External HD | 8GB iPod Touch 1st Gen 3.1.3

The new white Macbook or the 13" MacBook Pro. If she's doing work on it, and will be needing it for spreadsheets and word documents etc, I highly consider buying Office for Mac or iWork along with it.