New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Macbook vs Macbook pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

WorldWideOliver

WorldWideOliver is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 2006 MacBook Pro, 10.7.2, 2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB 667 MHz memory

I'm a college student looking for a new macbook, my old PowerPc G5 has broken down beyond repair.

I'm wondering if the extra power/performance of the macbook pro is really worth the extra money over the macbook.
If anyone has used or owned (owns?) both the macbook and the pro, is there a noticeable difference?
I've only used my friends's macbooks and pros, and all i could notice was that the regular macbook felt a bit more like, well, plastic or something, but I didn't use them for long.

I also read that the macbook pro is "ending its cycle" so to speak - its been half a year or so since release, and they usually come out with a new one with some form of change after this time frame - i can wait till about late january if they might come out with a new model?

Any help appreciated, as always
QUOTE Thanks
johnnyFIVE

johnnyFIVE is an unknown at this point
Mac Specs: iPad & iphone 3G

The new macbook and macbook pro have the same NVIDIA boardset and processor unless you pay some extra money to get the updated processor in the pro.

You probably wont notice a performance difference at all.