New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Week Old MBPro 13" .. 88% battery health ??

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Kian90

Kian90 is on a distinguished road

hey guys i'm new to macs !

i am loving every second of it, i downloaded the istat widget so i can keep close tabs on my laptop.. i've had it barely over a week and it says my battery is at 18% on 16 cycles . am i doing something wrong ? i charge it once its full and let it drain til it dies to is close to dying..

thanks in advance ..
QUOTE Thanks
maz94protege

maz94protege will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: MacbookPro 15.4, 2.2ghz i7 (Late 2011), Macbook 1,1 1.83ghz CoreDuo

Drain the battery completely, unplug the power cord and hold down the power button for 5-10seconds. it should reset the onboard battery and it may help. You wont loose any information, and since yours is a uni-body it may/may not work. On removable laptops you drain the battery, remove the battery and power cable then hold down the power button to drain/reset the onboard battery/memory. i have 128cycles on my battery and im at 87% left.

The only other thing i could say is its a defective battery, take it to the AppleStore and they may just replace the battery still under warranty.
QUOTE Thanks
Mac Masta

Mac Masta is an unknown at this point