New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

PowerBook - Powerbook g4 updgrade question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mattya1414

mattya1414 is an unknown at this point

Hello all, I am new to Mac's and recently my sister gave me her old mac powerbook g4 15inch. I replaced the hard drive and upgraded the RAM to 2gb. The issue however....i reinstalled the cd's it came with which was mac os x 10.3, and I was looking to purchase Leopard (10.5) and I was just wondering that if I purchase 10.5 that I could just install it over the old version 10.3 without having to upgrade to 10.4 first. The laptop meets all the hardware requirements for installation of 10.5, I just want to make sure I will not have a problem if i install it over 10.3. Thank you for you help!
QUOTE Thanks
Sur3Mac

Sur3Mac is a jewel in the roughSur3Mac is a jewel in the roughSur3Mac is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: Late 2011 MBP 13" i5/16GB RAM,Early 2007 MB white 13", 2x TV 3rd Gen, ᣦ

I think Leopard is only to be used if you have Tiger installed.

Are you sure you'd want Leo on your PB, it's a heavy OS for a G4 CPU, even with the 2GB's.
And if you're going through with it... always back-up first.

Good luck

QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3