New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - 2008 Macbook battery will not charge, power light stays green. Help!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mckayskater

mckayskater is on a distinguished road

I am a noob to macs so here is my problem. I have a 2008 Macbook and when the power is plugged in, the light is green, however my battery will not charge, and it even says at the top "battery is not charging" If I remove the power cord from the computer it will still run off the remaining % of the battery, but If I reconnect the cord it lights up green and I never see the amber charging color. I traded out my battery as well as a different power cord and still the same results. My battery will charge up on a friends macbook, but not on my own. I want to take it to the apple store but I'm at school and there is no store near me. I ran the coconut battery program and here are my results

Current battery charge 4275 mAh
Maximum battery charge 4928 mAh
Current battery capacity 4928 mAh
Original battery capacity 5020 mAh

battery load cycles 146
age of mac 19 months
charger connected yes
battery is charging no

Anyone have any ideas for me? Thanks for your help.
QUOTE Thanks
mpataki

mpataki is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 3.0 GHz Quad Mac Pro, 2.0 GHz Aluminum Unibody MacBook