Should I get the mac book pro to replace my two desktops?
    I am a graphic designer who uses PC for website design and Mac for graphic design - currently I am running two desktops and regularly switch between the two as work demands.

I need access and use all the usual Office 2007 apps - Powerpoint, Word, Excell e.t.c as well as the full range of Adobe products- Fireworks, Dreamweaver, Premier, Photoshop and sometimes Microsoft Visual Studio express.

I am thinking of making my life simpler (or more complicated) and upgrading to the Mac Book Pro 17" screen for on the road work with a wide screen for in office work.

I have heard the Mac Book Pro runs Windows XP and the associated apps with out any problems....

Am I asking too much of the Mac Book Pro and opening up a can of worms by deciding to ditch the two desktops in subsitute for the Mac Book Pro?

Bear in mind often I have 6 different apps open on each platform....

Thoughts from experienced users welcome.

Thank you,

J.

Specs:
    MacBook
    My opinion... you're better off with what you already have.

A notebook could offer some benefits if you're on the road, but I wouldn't use it to replace anything you already use.

mac: a waterproof raincoat made of rubberized fabric
    MAC: a data communication protocol sub-layer, also known as the Media Access Control
    Mac: a brand name which covers several lines of personal computers designed, developed, and marketed by Apple Inc.

And it sounds like you could easily run out of disk space.
    A macbook pro only has limited HDD storage.
    Waiting for the game that takes full advantage of a 124bit, 3.5GHz, 8-core, 64Gig-RAM system.

Specs:
    MBP/2.53GHz i5/4GB RAM/500GB HDD/15" LED Screen/Intel HD Graphics & NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M
    I'd stick with the desktops. Two different machines for two completely different work flows sounds very sensible to me.

Specs:
    MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB