New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - Macbook connection to Samsung T260


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
slcook54

 
Member Since: Jul 16, 2009
Posts: 1
slcook54 is on a distinguished road

slcook54 is offline
Hi All,

Total noob here and I did just search, just couldn't find an exact answer.

I just purchased a Samsung T260, and hooked it up to my Macbook with the cable provided by Newegg. The monitor is calling for a resolution of 1900x1200, (I found the maximum macbook resolution is 1920x1200), but when I go to preferences and displays the maximum available resolution is only 1600x1200. I searched and found that the maximum resolution for VGA on the macbook is only 1600x1200, I'm assuming this is the problem, is it likely that they included a VGA cable instead of a DVI cable and this is restricting my max resolution (sorry at work and can't check the cable). If so, do I just need a DVI-D cable and then more resolution options will show up on the display options?

Any help would greatly be appreciated

Steve
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

 
chscag's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 23, 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 41,422
chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, Yosemite

chscag is offline
The NewEgg advertisement for your monitor shows that it comes with a VGA cable, DVI cable, USB, and power cable. Are you saying that there was no DVI cable in the box? You will of course also need an adapter cable from your MacBook to attach to the large DVI cable. (the type of adapter cable depends on which year model MacBook you have)

By using DVI you should be able to achieve the native resolution of the Samsung monitor.

Regards.
QUOTE Thanks
wmprice1240

 
Member Since: May 03, 2009
Posts: 480
wmprice1240 has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: MBP 2.33 4GB: MacPro 8 Core 2.8, 16GB: MacMini 2.26 4GB: MacMin 2.53 4GB: iPhone3GS 32GB

wmprice1240 is offline
This is most likely a restriction on the resolution of your video card in your MacBook. A different cable type will not change this as it's a hardware limitation and has nothing to do with connectivity.

GPU's have limits as to the native resolutions they support, they will not go beyond that. You can always find out the make of the card (you didn't post your model) and verify it with the manufacturer and/or Apple.
QUOTE Thanks
Vega

 
Member Since: Jul 17, 2009
Posts: 36
Vega is on a distinguished road

Vega is offline
I too have hooked up my MacBook to a TV and I found that what wmprice is saying is correct. My MacBook simply does not have the maximum resolution that my TV does. If you lower the TV's resolution to that of the MacBook's then you should be fine.
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

 
chscag's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 23, 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 41,422
chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, Yosemite

chscag is offline
To the last two responders:

Please take note of what the OP stated in his post:

Quote:
I just purchased a Samsung T260, and hooked it up to my Macbook with the cable provided by Newegg. The monitor is calling for a resolution of 1900x1200, (I found the maximum macbook resolution is 1920x1200), but when I go to preferences and displays the maximum available resolution is only 1600x1200. I searched and found that the maximum resolution for VGA on the macbook is only 1600x1200, I'm assuming this is the problem, is it likely that they included a VGA cable instead of a DVI cable and this is restricting my max resolution (sorry at work and can't check the cable). If so, do I just need a DVI-D cable and then more resolution options will show up on the display options?
If he is correctly stating the capable resolution of his MacBook, (he didn't mention model year) then his machine should be able to display the native resolution of the Samsung.

Regards.
QUOTE Thanks
Jokaero

 
Member Since: Jan 17, 2010
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Posts: 3
Jokaero is on a distinguished road

Jokaero is offline
Hi all,
has there been an solution to this? I got also a Samsung (SyncMaster 2433) who's resolution is 1900x1200. I'm using a Mini Display to DVI adapter to connect to my MacBook (2 months old) with NVIDIA GeForce 9400M. However, the max resolution I can select for my external display is 1600x1200. Anything I can do to change this to 1900x1200?
QUOTE Thanks
bobtomay

 
bobtomay's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 22, 2006
Location: Texas, where else?
Posts: 25,191
bobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 15" MBP 2.33 C2D 256 4GB, MBA 13" i7 1.8, MB 2.0 2GB, Nano 4th, 3GS, iPad 1

bobtomay is offline
There seems to be an issue introduced in 10.5.7 and above. Not everyone was affected, but there were many reports. Some users had one Mac affected but not another. Two things to try.

First is a PRAM reset.

The second is install SwitchResX. Go to the "Timing Parameters" settings and checking "Use Simplified settings", and then change the drop-down menu from "GTF" to "CTV-RB".

However, even the System Preference - Display preferences pics on the Samsung site showed a max resolution of 1600x1200. Item 2 seemed to work for a great many.

I cannot be held responsible for the things that come out of my mouth.
In the Windows world, most everything folks don't understand is called a virus.
QUOTE Thanks
Jokaero

 
Member Since: Jan 17, 2010
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Posts: 3
Jokaero is on a distinguished road

Jokaero is offline
Thanks for the answers! PRAM reset helped there. :-)
QUOTE Thanks
sldkfjgh

 
Member Since: Sep 05, 2009
Posts: 12
sldkfjgh is on a distinguished road

sldkfjgh is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobtomay View Post

The second is install SwitchResX. Go to the "Timing Parameters" settings and checking "Use Simplified settings", and then change the drop-down menu from "GTF" to "CTV-RB".
Can't seem to find this. Do I need to have purchased SRX to get access to this settings menu?
QUOTE Thanks
bobtomay

 
bobtomay's Avatar
 
Member Since: Dec 22, 2006
Location: Texas, where else?
Posts: 25,191
bobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond reputebobtomay has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 15" MBP 2.33 C2D 256 4GB, MBA 13" i7 1.8, MB 2.0 2GB, Nano 4th, 3GS, iPad 1

bobtomay is offline
On the left side - highlight the external monitor
On the right side - goto the Custom Resolutions button
Click the + at the bottom

There you'll find the Use Simplified settings

If you find SRX useful, please register for their continued support.

I cannot be held responsible for the things that come out of my mouth.
In the Windows world, most everything folks don't understand is called a virus.
QUOTE Thanks
sldkfjgh

 
Member Since: Sep 05, 2009
Posts: 12
sldkfjgh is on a distinguished road

sldkfjgh is offline
Nope, that didn't do it. The additional mode just doesn't work if the EDID hasn't come through for some reason.

The resolution's fine as long as enough time has passed for the computer to have gotten the EDID stuff. I look at what it gets when things are haywire, and it's all but empty. On the other hand, when it works well it's got what it looks like it should.

There must be a value somewhere that's responsible for the amount of time that the OS waits for EDID to be received. Adjusting this might help things.
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« new problem on macbook pro | Will it work on my MacBook? »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
MacBook impressions - trip to store kaidomac Schweb's Lounge 24 10-14-2007 02:45 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?