New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook Pro - HDD occasionally makes a very light 'click' noise

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Promethius

Promethius is on a distinguished road

Okay so I'm new to Mac and yesterday I picked up my shiny new Macbook Pro 15" and its pretty darn sweet. I have the 2.66 ghz model with dual graphics cards and its a beautiful machine! I certainly will not be going back to Windows any time soon.

Anyway, there is something I'm kinda worried about. The HDD occasionally makes a very light 'click' noise, its not the same sort of click that a usual HDD makes so I'm assuming that it doesn't mean failure of any sort, well at least I hope so. The 'click' only occurs occasionally and is very low, also there have been no instances of freezing, lagging or crashing. It actually sounds more like a click then a tap.

I've checked out online and it says on the Apple website that this may be the motion sensor or the pin parking its head or something along those lines, but I'd like some clarification from real users with experience.

Can someone please help me out and let me know if there is anything wrong, I have a 320GB HDD if that helps. I also have an audio clip of it and I can post it if someone can tell me how.

Thanks guys.
QUOTE Thanks
Strukt

Strukt will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: rMBP 15" / 2.6GHz / 16GB / 512GB