New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - Advice needed!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

U-WUS

U-WUS is on a distinguished road

I'm very much a newbie here. I had a month or so's experience with Macs at the Red Bull Music Academy last year and found that the apps were very musician friendly. I also noticed that everybody was using Macs.
My step daughter is very much into singing/songwriting and getting to the stage where a portable Mac becomes a requirement.
So, my question is; Should we be looking at a New Macbook or something higher specked that is almost new or do we go for something quite a lot older but is top spec?
We have about 1000 Euros. Is a Pro worth the extra cash? and if so, is an older pro worth getting? Weight is less of a potential problem than useability/apps etc as carrying it around will only be occasional.
We also have a Roland keyboard, will it be possible to hook this up to the Mac.
Any advice gratefully received.
QUOTE Thanks
Kevriano

Kevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to allKevriano is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.