New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

Internet question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

gweedodogg69

I'm new to my Mac PowerbookG4. It doesn't have an ethernet port, but it has a wireless card built in. How can I use a pcmcia card in the laptop for ethernet since my home does not have wireless?

Thank you.
QUOTE Thanks
meltbanana314

What do you mean it doesn't have ethernet? Ethernet has been standard since the PowerBook G3s!
QUOTE Thanks
vtupser

Just purchase a pcmcia card that has an ethernet port in it. You can easily find one on Amazon.com or any computer website (search "pcmcia ethernet"). Or since you have a wireless card, go ahead and purchase a wireless router to put into your house that way you can go anywhere with your pb. They will be about the same price range.
QUOTE Thanks
gweedodogg69

I have pcmcia card, how do I enable it in the Mac though? I plug it in, it shows up on the top but it still looks for an internet connection through the wireless connection. I already have a homenetwork, im not gonna upgrade to wireless until it is ALOT faster.
QUOTE Thanks
meltbanana314

Quote:
Originally Posted by gweedodogg69
I have pcmcia card, how do I enable it in the Mac though? I plug it in, it shows up on the top but it still looks for an internet connection through the wireless connection. I already have a homenetwork, im not gonna upgrade to wireless until it is ALOT faster.