New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - Truth about hardware problems

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

georgemichaelto

georgemichaelto is on a distinguished road

Hi Everyone;
I am new to Mac, coming from PC background like everyone else. Been dedicated to Vista and just fed up. I always want to make the change but been holding back .
last night i went to Best Buy to get myself some Mac and over come my fear, but then the sales person gave me a really bad feed back about the new MacBooks, saying they have tons of hardware problems. He even pointed that the 3 Macbooks they have on display in the store are actually fried.
He also pointed that heating up is a huge problem with all Mac's computers, generally even the iMac's.
So after that unexpected feedback i end up not buying it and i am seeking some clarifications here. what's the truth in that statements about heat problems and motherboards being fried.
I really want to make the switch, but i am not looking for more problems, enough with what I've had over the years from windows.
The Sales person also recommended extended warranty ($450) for 2 years.

Appreciate all the help
QUOTE Thanks
Mama Luigi

Mama Luigi has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: Phenom X3 720, Radeon 4870 1GB, 6GB DDR2-800, 32" LCD TV