New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - Completely new to Mac - Question!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

New2Mac84

New2Mac84 is on a distinguished road

Hi! I'm totally new to Mac, and I have a question.
First of all, I tried ordering the 999.99 MacBook from Best Buy and there are completely out, and so are all of the stores around my city, and I can't see traveling hundreds of miles for a computer in the winter, ya know? And they won't ship this certain one for some reason.

Anyways, I went to eBay and bought this kind:
Item Specifics - Apple Laptops
Condition: Used Processor Type: --
Product Family: MacBook Processor Speed (per Core): 1.8 GHz
Screen Size: 13 inch Processor Configuration: --
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.4, Tiger Memory (RAM): --
Primary Drive: CD-RW/DVD Combo Hard Drive Capacity: 2 GB

Now, my question is.. My cousin has a new MacBook for college (mine isn't for schooling just yet, I'm a photographer/graphics geek), and she said hers has Leopard on it, which apparently is the new software. Well before I even thought to ask the question, I was the winning bidder (impluse bid?? maybe lol), so I see it's running on Tiger. Now, how slow is this going to be? Here's their description: