New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - closing the lid screen...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

nab_04

nab_04 is on a distinguished road

I just bought my new macbook 2.4 and Im trying to adjust the settings, but having difficulty sleep option... this is my first time to use mac.

it goes on sleep mode every time I close down the screen lid, is this normal? can I change this setting?
QUOTE Thanks
zackplanet42

zackplanet42 is on a distinguished road

yes this is normal. the only way to fix it is by using a program such as insomniaX
QUOTE Thanks
KiwiNZ

KiwiNZ is on a distinguished road

This is actually a desirable behavior . I would not change it
QUOTE Thanks
osxx

osxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to allosxx is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3

I would bet that it gets hotter with the screen closed as to the reason for
sleep mode.
QUOTE Thanks
nab_04

thanks guys!! I installed the program and it runs perfectly...

but if I closed the screen will it be turned off? I really do NOT want my laptop to get overheated or worse....
QUOTE Thanks
ViriiGuy

ViriiGuy will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: 15" MacBook Pro | 2.8Ghz C2D | 4 Gigs Ram | 512 Meg 9600 GT | 320 Gig Hdd