New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - New MacBook ends in tears

Thread Closed

GuiGuy

GuiGuy is on a distinguished road

I'm new to Macs, but a long time Unix/ Linux/ Windoze user and programmer.

We have bought our daughter a new MacBook (MB466X/A). When it arrived yesterday she powered it up, configured it and was using it for several hours (power plugged in, battery is charged).

Today she switched it on and it goes to the Start up screen. The loading icon just sits there and nothing happens. The thing never loads the desktop.

We've done all the testing described in the hand book. The Hardware test says all is OK.

So, here we are. My daughter in tears, me wanting to say "I told you so" but feeling too sad for her and biting my tongue. Given the Apple hype, it is very disappointing.

I am hoping some of you here can help, but I sense we are going to have the thing back.

TIA.
GuiGuy

Nevermind. I think the thing is stuffed. It won't even load the OS install disk. Same symptom; apple splash screen powers up and then the little spinning wheel does its thing as long as you like.

My suspicions about Apple and Macs are confirmed. And I am not looking forward to having to deal with the "Apple Shop"

For $2k (AU), it's left a very bitter taste.

Cheers
bobtomay