New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - Macbook rebel needs some advice!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MrsMacGirl

MrsMacGirl is on a distinguished road

Hello all. I'm new to this forum. I'm also new to the Mac community, but I must say I am definitely loving it!

I'm about to start nursing school. My school highly discourages Macs due to the software we are going to use and the school won't provide any Mac tech support. But there are a hand full of us that are going to use our Macs, and some undercover IT guys that use Macs are willing to help us too. There are Mac users in the program now that have done just fine using Parallels with the required software for the program.

Because I'm not exactly tech savvy, I am hoping I can get some advice here on this. The following is what the school requires in a laptop:

Windows XP, or Vista
Java-compatible Web browser: Firefox 2.0, or Internet Explorer 6.0
1.0 GHz or faster processor (Pentium IV and above)
At least 1 GB of RAM is required; 2 GB or above recommended
20 GB free hard-disk space
High Speed Internet Access
Sound card and speakers
Wireless network card
CD-drive
2 USB ports
MS Office
Adobe Acrobat Reader (available free from the Internet)
Adobe Shockwave Player version 11.0

Here is what I have:
Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook2,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.16 GHz