New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - Macbook Black 4 Gigs Memory

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

nwa122

nwa122 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 2.4 Blackbook

I know this topic has probably been discussed a lot. I have the latest Macbook Black with 2 gigs of memory. I am itching to buy 4 gigs but am not sure if it really is worth it. I am a student and do not really utilize all the memory unless running parallels (which can run slow if mac apps are open). Will i notice any difference with regular computer usage, or just heavy computer usage? I appreciate all input.

Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
takadante

takadante will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: Macbook 2.14ghz || 120GB || IPHONE 3G 8GB JBken 4GB RAM || <3

Honestly, if Parallels is the only memory-hungry application you are going to be running, then No. But if you do use it a lot, and the speed of it bothers you, then 4 gigs will do you well. The added RAM will help the speed of Parallels.

I personally think you should stick with the 2GB of RAM. It seems sufficient for your described usage. Your speed will be the same when you aren't use memory-demanding applications.

Just my $0.02
QUOTE Thanks
Thundermoon1994

Thundermoon1994 will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: 15" MacBook Pro w/ 2.4 GHz C2D, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB