New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

iBook or Powerbook

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

telemore

Hi all, I'm new to the world of Mac, and I'm lookin for a portable. What I wanted to know, I'm mostly interested in using it for music editing and basic usage, which would suit me better? Is the iBook powerful enough, or should I just go for the Powerbook?

Thanks,
Jacob
QUOTE Thanks
Macman

Macman has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: PowerMac G4 Cube 450mhz 832mb

the ibook would be good enough if you have a good enough amount of ram. also the faster the processor you can get, the better.
QUOTE Thanks
Danster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman
the ibook would be good enough if you have a good enough amount of ram. also the faster the processor you can get, the better.
i thought having a higher Ghz ment nothing and was just a marketing scam
if so i have seen pentium 4's with speeds up to 3.6+ are they faster than my G5 1.8?
QUOTE Thanks
Phiber

Oh sweet lord, here it comes..

How, praytell, would having a higher clock cycle be a scam? You must consider this, also: Intel based computers differ GREATLY from Apples. Sorry for the vagueness, but I seem to remember being told that it was in the way they processed that data; i.e. they came from the other side of the bit sequence it was reading? From what I also understand, Apples are very effecient in their data processing but HOARD RAM.