Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Member Since
    Aug 30, 2008
    Angry Need Help with wireless network/password prompts showing up for EVERYTHING?
    Hey all. I recently just moved into a college dorm on Wednesday. My brother came with me so he could help me set up my wireless with a NetGear router he purchased. I use a MacBook Pro, and bought it at the beginning of August.

    I have 3 other roommates where I live. When they open their notebooks, they are automatically connected to the internet. For me however, this is not the case. I have to manually click on the AirPort icon in my toolbar and scroll down until I find my NetGear network. I don't understand how to go around this?? Why can everyone else be automatically connected, but I can't? It's very frustrating.

    I called my brother asking what he did, but he had no clue and could not help me (he's a PC user). I Googled answers, and tried some different things, but nothing has worked so far.

    Another thing I wanted to do was set a password for my wireless network. I really don't want everyone in this whole building using my network and slowing my internet down just because I can't figure out how to set a password. I have gone into the System Preferences of Networks several times attempting to set a password, but it never stays. I have also tried to make my network my only default network, but it also never stays. I ALWAYS have to manually select it when I want to use the internet.

    Plus, when I was goofing around trying to get a password up, I accidentally set a preference so that I have to enter in my password whenever I want to change something in System Preferences AND when I go to manually select my network!!! I have no idea how to take this off.

    Basically, here are my problems:
    - I have to manually select my network each time I want to use the internet
    - When I try to set a password for my network, it never stays/saves
    - I accidentally set it so that a password prompt comes up when I try to change any System Preferences, and it is especially frustrating because it also asks for a password every time I go to manually select my network

    Can someone please help me? I would be so, so grateful. I'm just so frustrated and don't know what else to do...

  2. #2

    Member Since
    Apr 29, 2008
    Brisbane, Australia
    MacBook Pro 15" 2.5 GHz 2 GB RAM 250 GB HDD NViDA GeForce 8600 GMT
    Just make sure your Network settings are as follow:

    Open your system preferences>Network>Click on the Advanced button.
    Picture 2.png

    And check on the box saying Remember any network this computer has joined.
    Picture 3.png
    iPod 5.5 Gen Video 30 GB | iPod Classic 80 GB |Airport Express |
    MacBook Pro Penryn 2.5 GHz | 2 GB RAM | NVida GeFroce 8600 GMT|

  3. #3

    Member Since
    Aug 30, 2008
    Well, that's the thing. I've done that countless times and it never remembers my NetGear network. I always have to go and manually select it when I want to use the internet no matter what. I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-03-2012, 07:37 PM
  2. Password Prompts and iTunes
    By fak119 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2011, 12:34 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 08:08 AM
  4. Looking up wireless network password
    By kmiddle18 in forum Internet, Networking, and Wireless
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-24-2008, 01:22 PM
  5. Constant prompts for password..
    By ADKhikerVW in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2007, 04:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts