Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   Should I upgrade? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/116316-should-i-upgrade.html)

mini1 07-17-2008 07:23 PM

Should I upgrade?

My birthday is coming up and I'm thinking about upgrading my MBP (2.4) from 10.4.11 to 10.5.4. I have 2GB of Ram right now and I'd like to max it out at 4GB also (maybe it would speed up Parallels Desktop?)

I have CS3, MS Office 04, iWork08, iLife08, Final Cut Pro and the newest edition of Parallels Desktop with Vista Ultimate running on this computer. I DO NOT WANT to MESS up any of the current software and I have never done a Mac OS upgrade before.

Should I go for it? Does the new OS really install right over the old one?

Is it safe to purchase 10.5 on ebay if its sealed and unused? Can I purchase the Ram on ebay also?

chscag 07-17-2008 10:27 PM

When installing a newer OS, whether it be OS X, Windows, or Linux, it's always best to do a clean install. That would be way too much work in your case since you seem to have quite a bit on your machine already.

I'm not sure an "archive and install" would be completely successful and may wind up causing you problems. Perhaps someone else who has more experience in installing Leopard over Tiger (upgrade) can advise you better.

As for purchasing Leopard and memory off eBay..... Memory is inexpensive and can be purchased from sellers such as Crucial, OWC, CanadaRam, etc. All are great to do business with and absolutely guaranty what they sell. You can purchase Leopard from NewEgg, Amazon, and many other legitimate sellers on the web.

Stay away from eBay. (My opinion)

Regards.

drlau9 07-18-2008 06:17 AM

Where to buy ram