New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook Pro - Should i buy a mac

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

davenz

davenz is on a distinguished road

Ok, heres the deal,

I'm a university student studying accounting and finance. I currently own a Dell inspiron 6400 which has worked fine for me in the past (bought it 1.5 years ago). However, my uni just got a whole lot the new 24 inch imacs and there amazing. I'm considering a macbook pro, unless of course you want to recommend something else. How does the MBP differ from the MB?

-I've heard that macbook pros can heat up alot, is this true with the new ones?
-I have an external hard drive for my dell. Will this be able to be used with a mac.
- Will a mac be good for business related stuff? Excel and stuff all work ok. Anything which i would be better off with a PC?
-Are they quiet. One of the things which annoys me about my dell is it makes a ticking noise like a hard drive. It never did it when it was new.
-How do i make it so i can choose windows or mac OS? Do i just install boot camp and then get a choice?
-On my dell, i use a software called yagoon. Its a calendar like program which lets me put my uni timetable on it and add events, which it pops up and beeps when i have something to go to. Its amazing, i dont know if i can have a computer without something like this as i am busy and it pretty much organizes my life.