Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Adding RAM to MacBook - Need Advice

  1. #1

    holden636's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts
    19
    Adding RAM to MacBook - Need Advice
    I have been reading other posts and I think I have everything right but please let me know if anything is wrong. I'm ordering more RAM memory for my MacBook (2d gen). Here are the spec for it currently:

    MacBook
    2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    1GB (2 x 512MB) 667 MHz DDR2

    I am upgrading the RAM to 2GB (1GB x 2) from Crucial. Here is a link to the actual kit I'm buying. The other one that I was thinking about buying was the Kingston kit (link). However, the price difference made me go with the Crucial ($47.99 vs. $70).

    What do you guys think? Is this the correct choice? Thanks in advance for the help.

  2. #2

    Noels's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 03, 2008
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    945
    holden636,

    Crucial is good RAM, so I'd say you are making a good choice. Have you considered going to 4GB? If you can afford the difference, your Macbook performance will be the better for it.

    Noel

  3. #3

    Soulwar's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location
    Estero, FL
    Posts
    1,515
    Actually, your Macbook can support up to 3GB. The (SR) Santa Rosa models can support 4GB.

    "However, third-parties have discovered that "pre-Santa Rosa" MacBook models equipped with a "Core 2 Duo" processor will work with 3 GB of RAM (those with a Core 2 Duo processor released prior to November 1, 2007) -- which requires a 2 GB module and a 1 GB module."
    "This "mismatched" configuration will modestly compromise performance of video-related tasks but likely will be of interest for users who primarily use the system for CPU and memory-intensive tasks."

    "Other World Computing has posted detailed test results comparing the performance of the MacBook configured with matched and mismatched memory." http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook/faq/macbook-how-to-upgrade-ram.html

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...007-specs.html

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../53IM2DDR3GBK/
    When all else fails, try everything!
    The Rep System and you.
    Life's a joke...If you're not laughing, then you didn't get it.

    June 2008


  4. #4


    Member Since
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts
    135
    Any known brand will do the job, just don't settle for a weird brand RAM.

  5. #5


    Member Since
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    236
    I have just installed 2 x 2Gb of Kington RAM in my macbook, and everything seems to be running fine - so far.

  6. #6

    holden636's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Noels View Post
    holden636,

    Crucial is good RAM, so I'd say you are making a good choice. Have you considered going to 4GB? If you can afford the difference, your Macbook performance will be the better for it.

    Noel
    Thanks. I was going up to 2GB only because that's all I thought I needed. I'm not currently having any problems with the 1GB currently installed and I don't download any music or video piles on this computer (have a Dell PC for that). I was more so upgrading the RAM for precautionary measures. I recently got Photoshop (although still haven't figured out how to use it) and didn't want it to slow my computer down in the future.

  7. #7

    holden636's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts
    19
    Also - Thanks to all of the repsonses so far.

  8. #8


    Member Since
    Jul 08, 2008
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Rambaud View Post
    I have just installed 2 x 2Gb of Kington RAM in my macbook, and everything seems to be running fine - so far.
    Am abt to do similar upgrade to my older machine. 2.0Ghz Duo Core version. system came with 2 x 256MB. Can I just purchase 1 x 2GB and install to the machine? (my machine support max to 2GB only) tks.

  9. #9

    Soulwar's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location
    Estero, FL
    Posts
    1,515
    Quote Originally Posted by ScubaMan View Post
    Am abt to do similar upgrade to my older machine. 2.0Ghz Duo Core version. system came with 2 x 256MB. Can I just purchase 1 x 2GB and install to the machine? (my machine support max to 2GB only) tks.
    Yes, just make sure to buy a matched pair.
    http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgrades.cfm?model=248
    When all else fails, try everything!
    The Rep System and you.
    Life's a joke...If you're not laughing, then you didn't get it.

    June 2008


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Adding RAM to 2007 Macbook
    By mahoopes in forum Apple Notebooks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2012, 05:10 PM
  2. Adding RAM to my MacBook
    By KeithTeeple in forum Apple Notebooks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-30-2008, 06:19 PM
  3. Urgent : Last words of advice for Ram & Mouse for a Macbook
    By delliioo in forum Other Hardware and Peripherals
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 11:27 AM
  4. Adding ram to a macbook
    By lukem5 in forum Apple Notebooks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-21-2007, 08:36 PM
  5. RAM upgrade advice for my new macbook
    By staplek in forum Apple Notebooks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 10:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •