Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Apple Notebooks (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/)
-   -   Adding RAM to MacBook - Need Advice (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-notebooks/114752-adding-ram-macbook-need-advice.html)

holden636 07-06-2008 09:08 PM

Adding RAM to MacBook - Need Advice
 
I have been reading other posts and I think I have everything right but please let me know if anything is wrong. I'm ordering more RAM memory for my MacBook (2d gen). Here are the spec for it currently:

MacBook
2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
1GB (2 x 512MB) 667 MHz DDR2

I am upgrading the RAM to 2GB (1GB x 2) from Crucial. Here is a link to the actual kit I'm buying. The other one that I was thinking about buying was the Kingston kit (link). However, the price difference made me go with the Crucial ($47.99 vs. $70).

What do you guys think? Is this the correct choice? Thanks in advance for the help.

Noels 07-06-2008 09:14 PM

holden636,

Crucial is good RAM, so I'd say you are making a good choice. Have you considered going to 4GB? If you can afford the difference, your Macbook performance will be the better for it.

Noel

Soulwar 07-06-2008 10:27 PM

Actually, your Macbook can support up to 3GB. The (SR) Santa Rosa models can support 4GB.

"However, third-parties have discovered that "pre-Santa Rosa" MacBook models equipped with a "Core 2 Duo" processor will work with 3 GB of RAM (those with a Core 2 Duo processor released prior to November 1, 2007) -- which requires a 2 GB module and a 1 GB module."
"This "mismatched" configuration will modestly compromise performance of video-related tasks but likely will be of interest for users who primarily use the system for CPU and memory-intensive tasks."

"Other World Computing has posted detailed test results comparing the performance of the MacBook configured with matched and mismatched memory." http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook/faq/macbook-how-to-upgrade-ram.html

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...007-specs.html

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../53IM2DDR3GBK/

a4 abt 07-06-2008 10:33 PM

Any known brand will do the job, just don't settle for a weird brand RAM.

Rambaud 07-07-2008 03:24 PM

I have just installed 2 x 2Gb of Kington RAM in my macbook, and everything seems to be running fine - so far. :)

holden636 07-07-2008 03:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Noels (Post 687256)
holden636,

Crucial is good RAM, so I'd say you are making a good choice. Have you considered going to 4GB? If you can afford the difference, your Macbook performance will be the better for it.

Noel

Thanks. I was going up to 2GB only because that's all I thought I needed. I'm not currently having any problems with the 1GB currently installed and I don't download any music or video piles on this computer (have a Dell PC for that). I was more so upgrading the RAM for precautionary measures. I recently got Photoshop (although still haven't figured out how to use it) and didn't want it to slow my computer down in the future.

holden636 07-07-2008 03:53 PM

Also - Thanks to all of the repsonses so far.

ScubaMan 07-08-2008 02:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rambaud (Post 687624)
I have just installed 2 x 2Gb of Kington RAM in my macbook, and everything seems to be running fine - so far. :)

Am abt to do similar upgrade to my older machine. 2.0Ghz Duo Core version. system came with 2 x 256MB. Can I just purchase 1 x 2GB and install to the machine? (my machine support max to 2GB only) tks.

Soulwar 07-08-2008 08:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScubaMan (Post 687965)
Am abt to do similar upgrade to my older machine. 2.0Ghz Duo Core version. system came with 2 x 256MB. Can I just purchase 1 x 2GB and install to the machine? (my machine support max to 2GB only) tks.

Yes, just make sure to buy a matched pair.
http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgrades.cfm?model=248


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.