New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook Pro - Sleep of Power off?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

avalanche

avalanche is on a distinguished road

Hey guys, I'm a student and want to start bringing my macbook pro with me to my classes. I don't know whether I should put it to sleep or turn it off between classes. It will be bouncing around in my bag so I don't know if that could be bad for it while it is sleeping, and also I don't know whether it is a bad idea to keep powering it up and down between classes (probably about 3 or 4 times a day). Please let me know what you think would be better.

Thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
lukenn77

lukenn77 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook White 2.16GHz 2Gb OS X 10.5, 16Gb iPhone 3G Black

I used to close mine down every night etc, but now i just shut the lid and leave it at that. Puts it to sleep, and when you open it up again everything is right where you left it. If it's going to be in and out of your bag id recommend getting a protective case for it. I just got a soft black neoprene case for £20 from apple and it works great. And dont worry about it getting too hot when inside a case and turned on, there is no way it will overheat in there. So to summarise...i'd just keep it turned on and shut the lid whenever you need to get up and move.
QUOTE Thanks
blackhand

blackhand is on a distinguished road