New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

iBook - Replaced HD but not recognized

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

evaughn21

evaughn21 is on a distinguished road

Hello all, to start I am new to the MAC world but am eager to learn. I purchased a white ibook 500MHz, 512MB, 10GB HD, double USB, wireless and CDROM. The prior owner said that he was running OS X Leopard. When I received the laptop it didn't have a HD installed nor did it include any software. After emailing him he said that he didn't have time to wipe the HD so he just removed it and swore up and down that the package included the software... So I upgraded to a CDRW / DVD drive, and purchased a retail box WD 60GB HD and a retail copy of OS X Leopard.
I sucessfully installed the new CDRW/DVD drive and 60GB HD. Prior to installing the HD I formated it into HSF+ using MAC Drive7 software. After re-assembling everything I powered it up and held down the "C" button to boot to DVD. It gets to the grey screen w/ the apple and the spinner and just sits there spinning away. I have checked the forums and tried several things. I turned on holding down the "option" button it goes to a blue'ish screen w/ a curved arrow on left and a straight arrow on right. In the middle it has the MAC OS X box but it won't allow me to click on it. There was no hard drive shown so I am pretty sure that it is my first thing to resolve.