New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

MacBook - Black MacBook, MacBook Pro, or iMac?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

ancientMac

ancientMac is on a distinguished road

Okay, so I'm looking for a really good new computer for most likely portable use (I am a student), so the iMac is probably already out of the question. My current computer is an iBook G4 (1.25GB of RAM, 80GB Hard Drive, 1.2GHz PowerPC Processor running Leopard). I was considering one of these two options:

- 13" Black MacBook (2.4GHz Intel Processor, 250GB HD, 4GB of RAM, and, obviously, Leopard) = $1700

- 15" MacBook Pro (2.4GHz Intel Processor, 250GB HD, 4GB of RAM, & Leopard) = $2700

Why are these two setups entirely identical (except for screen size and color) and yet $1000 apart in price. To me, the black MacBook obviously seems like a better deal, but is there some special difference that makes the MacBook Pro worth all that much more?

I've also heard that the finish on the MacBook Pro scratches a lot more easily than does on a regular black MacBook.

Once again, I prefer the Black MacBook due to the price, but you guys tell me what you think!
QUOTE Thanks
Kash