New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Notebooks Apple's notebook computers including MacBook Pro, MacBook, MacBook Air, PowerBook, and iBook.

G3 or G4?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Sp4rk3

Hey,

I'm terribly sorry if something like this has already been done, but because of my lack of experience with Macs I could really use some help on this. I'm a high school student looking to shed the dead weight of the PC for something more portible and user-friendly (hence the want of an iBook). Next year I am going off to college, and I am going to need a laptop to get me through there. I need all of the basic needs and perhaps would enjoy a game or two, (I'm kinda a FPS junkie). So anyways, back to the original question, I am wondering if I could possibly go for the G3 instead of the new iBook G4. I have seen an 800 Mhz iBook G3 out there for about 400 to 500 dollars less that what I would pay for the G4 model that I would like to have. Here's a list of programs and hardware that I would like to use with my iBook -

-Photoshop, (preferably CS, but I can work with 7)
-Microsoft Office, (I know, I know, it's Microsoft, lol I'm not completely weened off yet)
-Any other of the new iLife programs, (I would like to run OS 10 Panther on it, I was wondering if the new G3's come with this installed on them?)
-UT 2003, (and any other FPS's that I could run, thank you Aptmunich for all of your help regarding this, lol)