New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

Which Mac Computer should I get.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Slammin_SoSo

Hi Guys,

I am new to this forum. I am sad to say I am a PC user. Intel P4 that is. I have used all my life PC and I just cant understand as to why do they crash. They completely blow. Anyhow, since Im thinking of trying out Apple and Im new to it, what Computer should I get...

Please help.. :mad: :eek:
QUOTE Thanks
MoltenLava

Maybe it's not the computers, but it's the way the computers are used? I've also owned a lot of PCs. My computers never crashed since Win2000 came out. Mac OS X is not immune to crashes either. Look into OS X forum for various threads about kernel panics. Personally, I've never had a kernel panic on my four Macs that I own.

The advantange of Mac over PC, in my opinion, is not how less often it crashes. Both Windows and OS X rarely crash if they are properly maintained.

I'm just saying, don't set your expectation such that OS X is rock solid. If you do, and when you see kernel panic the first time, you'll turn into another one of those bitter ex-Mac user saying your new AMD laptop runs circles around dual G5, etc.

However, I think Mac is a lot better than PC in every aspect, so you should definitely get one. What computer you should get depends almost entirely on your budget. How much are you willing to spend, and what's your performance expectation?