New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Apple Desktops Discussion of Apple's desktop machines including Mac Pro, iMac, Power Mac, and mini

iMac - 20" Aluminum iMac Overheating?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MediaMurder

MediaMurder is on a distinguished road

Hey guys, Im wondering a few things...
Im a multi-media student, I bought a new iMac (specs below), Im running everything from after effects, photoshop and cinema 4d to logic pro8 and reason... Lots of stuff, But im wondering if anyone has had any heating issues. Right now it says my computer is running anywhere from 50 to 75 celcius, Im really wanting this computer to last and Im wondering if anyone has any good ideas or knows of any good products that will lower my temperature by like 10 degrees??

Right now I just have a little fan sitting behind it but I dont think that it's doing too much cooling (other than keeping me cool).

My specs:

iMac (20')
Core 2 duo 2.4 ghz
2 GB ram (667)
Radeon 256 graphics card
300 GB hard drive

My software:

Cinema 4D
Creative suite CS3
Logic pro 8
Reason 3.0

THANKS!
QUOTE Thanks
Montie Da Champ

Montie Da Champ is an unknown at this point

The problem i see is that you probably don't have enough ram to run these programs. They are highly memory intensive. You shoudl probably move your computer to a more well ventilated area, or upgrade your ram.

When my computer runs hot i usually just shut it down, put a fan on it for a while, and then come back 5 minutes later and resume from a fresh start up.